The Somali National Army was, up until 1991, made up of the army, navy, air force, and air defense command. The Somali Government's demise led to the de facto dissolution of the national armed forces. Efforts by the Transitional Federal Government (TFG) to re-establish a regular armed force under the TFG Ministry of Defense have made progress so far.
Historical Organization
The army was organised into 12 divisions which controlled all of the following:
- 4 tank brigades
- 45 mechanized and infantry brigades
- 30 commando brigades
- Surface-to-air missile brigade
- 20 artillery brigades
- 30 field battalions, and an air defense battalion.

Military equipment and vehicles Somali Army of Somalia

Cookies settings


Functional Cookies

This site uses cookies to ensure its proper functioning and cannot be deactivated from our systems. We don't use them not for advertising purposes. If these cookies are blocked, some parts of the site will not work.


Please login to see yours activities!

Other cookies

This website uses a number of cookies to manage, for example: user sessions.